Formula E

FIA Formula E: Season Four will be even more electric

Key Takeaways

  • The FIA Formula E season will kick off in Hong Kong
  • 14 races in ten cities on five continents
  • Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver Lucas di Grassi is the defending champion

The stage is set for the fourth FIA Formula E season! The 2017/18 season will once again provide plenty of entertainment around the globe with new and spectacular racetracks and the largest calendar of events in the history of the world’s first fully-electric international single-seater street racing series, plus world-famous drivers and rules/regulations that are continually evolving. As a Founding Partner and Official Logistics Partner, DHL are looking forward to the start of the season in Hong Kong! Read on to find out what’s new!

New racetracks

The FIA Formula E will head once again to the world’s most famous metropolises. The first two of a total of 14 races will be staged in Hong Kong, a mega-city with more than 7 million inhabitants. The 40 Formula E cars and some 450 tons of equipment in all will be shipped from their Donington base over a distance of 10,000 kilometers to Hong Kong.

DHL will ensure that all racing cars, spare parts and lithium-ion batteries are delivered safely, on time and efficiently, using a multi-modal logistics approach. In the course of the season, freight will be transported by land, air and sea over more than 70,000 kilometers.

The most spectacular new addition to the racing calendar is probably the Zurich ePrix on 10th June 2018 as circuit racing returns to Switzerland for the first time in 60 years. “It’s great that Formula E is bringing racing back to Switzerland after a break of more than 60 years, something that wouldn’t have been possible without the principles behind Formula E which is advancing the electric revolution and sustainable mobility,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

Reigning champion Lucas di Grassi is looking forward to Formula E’s premiere in Brazil and his home race on 17th March 2018. “The race in Sầo Paulo is a dream come true for me,” said the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver. “Formula E is currently experiencing a real boom with interesting new race venues and new manufacturers.”

Formula E has already made the best possible advert for itself in the run-up to its debut in Italy with a spectacular show-run through the streets of Rome. Santiago de Chile is also new on the calendar. Did you know that Santiago’s subway has the largest system in South America and is the third oldest in that part of the world after its counterparts in Buenos Aires and Sầo Paulo?

2017/18 Formula E Calendar

  • Round 1: Hong Kong (China) - December 2, 2017          
  • Round 2: Hong Kong (China) - December 3, 2017
  • Round 3: Marrakesh (Morocco) - January 13, 2018
  • Round 4: Santiago (Chile) - February 3, 2018
  • Round 5: Mexico City (Mexico) - March 3, 2018
  • Round 6: Punta del Este (Uruguay) - March 17, 2018
  • Round 7: Rome (Italy) - April 14, 2018
  • Round 8: Paris (France) - April 28, 2018
  • Round 9: Berlin (Germany) - May 19, 2018
  • Round 10: Zurich (Switzerland) - June 10, 2018
  • Round 11: New York City (USA) - July 14, 2018
  • Round 12: New York City (USA) - July 15, 2018
  • Round 13: TBC - July 28, 2018
  • Round 14: TBC - July 29, 2018

New drivers

Fans can look forward to seeing some exciting newcomers in the Formula E line-up. Kamui Kobayashi, who drove in Formula 1 for a number of years, will make his debut at the season opener in Hong Kong, posting his first laps in a Formula E racing car for Team MS & AD Andretti.

Two overall winners of the legendary 24-Hours of Le Mans, Neel Jani (Dragon Racing) and Andre Lotterer (TECHEETAH) will join a line-up full of big names. Formula E team Venturi have signed a real street circuit specialist to their outfit with six-time Macau race winner, Edoardo Mortara.

The first champion in the history of FIA Formula E, Nelson Piquet Junior, is changing teams for the 2017/18 season. Driving for Panasonic Jaguar Racing, the Brazilian intends to build on past successes, but is he a match for the champions from the previous two years, Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi?

2017/18 Formula E Teams & Drivers

  • Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler: Lucas di Grassi & Daniel Abt
  • MS & AD Andretti Formula E: Antonio Felix da Costa & Kamui Kobayashi
  • DS Virgin Racing: Sam Bird & Alex Lynn
  • Dragon: Jerome D'Ambrosio & Neel Jani
  • Panasonic Jaguar Racing: Nelson Piquet Jr. & Mitch Evans
  • Mahindra Racing: Nick Heidfeld & Felix Rosenqvist
  • NIO Formula E Team: Oliver Turvey & Luca Filippi
  • Renault e.dams: Nico Prost & Sebastien Buemi
  • TECHEETAH: Jean-Eric Vergne & Andre Lotterer
  • Venturi Formula E: Maro Engel & Edoardo Mortara

New rules

The rules will remain by and large the same for the 2017/18 season in order to keep costs under control. Fans and drivers can look forward to an increase in performance of the Formula E cars in the races from 170 to 180 kW. This rise in race power will mean that the races are either faster next season or even longer, showcasing how the technology deployed in Formula E is advancing the development of electric car technology.

Also, in future, points for the fastest race lap will only be awarded if the driver posting it finishes the race in the Top Ten. Last season, the fastest lap in every race was achieved by a driver who finished out of the points.

There will also be an additional test day during the season and a test exclusively for FE rookies. During double header races – of which three are scheduled in Season 4 – there will be just one free practice session on the second day rather than two as at present. 

Finally, the number of filming days the teams are permitted to hold has been increased from three to six, but only three of them can take place on a permanent race circuit. The idea is to increase the number of street demos that the teams organize.


Posting Guidelines

All communications on Logistics of Things should be appropriate for a professional community, respecting the diverse views of individuals from different backgrounds. We will review all comments and reserve the right to terminate or restrict access to user's account and to delete any content posted through it, without notice and at our discretion, if we deem it to be overly promotional, offensive, or off topic.

All posting become property of DHL.