Formula 1®

DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award: FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO DE MÉXICO 2017

Key Takeaways

  • Mercedes complete the DHL Fastest Pit Stop at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
  • Valtteri Bottas is equipped with fresh tires in 2.19 seconds
  • Mercedes lead the DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award

Mercedes complete the DHL Fastest Pit Stop in the FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO DE MÉXICO 2017. The Silver Arrows crew change the tires on Valtteri Bottas’ car in 2.19 seconds.

Mercedes complete DHL Fastest Pit Stop in Mexico

The Mercedes crew are on top form as we approach the end of the season. As in Austin, the Silver Arrows completed the DHL Fastest Pit Stop in Mexico, showing off their perfect teamwork once again. Valtteri Bottas, who finished the race in third place, was equipped with fresh tires in 2.19 seconds on Lap 31, faster than anyone else at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

However, Williams, the defending champions in the DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award, were only beaten by the narrowest of margins. Lance Stroll was turned around and sent back on his way in 2.21 seconds after his only pit stop which was only 0.02 seconds slower than Bottas. Williams produced the third-fastest stop, taking 2.45 seconds to change tires on Felipe Massa’s car.

So, Mercedes can be delighted both with Lewis Hamilton’s World Championship title and with their perfect teamwork in the pit stop competition. “This was the hardest championship ever, but it was also extremely well deserved. We had quite a few ups and downs this season with the new cars and tires,” said Head of Motorsport, Toto Wolff, summing up.

Most drivers were on a one-stop strategy in view of low tire wear. However, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel both stopped twice as a result of their collision shortly after the start. Altogether, there were 23 pit stops in Mexico, twelve of which were completed in less than three seconds.

Fastest pit stops: FORMULA 1 GRAN PREMIO DE MÉXICO 2017

01 Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) - 2.19s
02 Lance Stroll (Williams) - 2.21s
03 Felipe Massa (Williams) - 2.45s
04 Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) - 2.68s
05 Pierre Gasly (Toro Rosso) - 2.70s
06 Max Verstappen (Red Bull) - 2.75s
07 Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) - 2.75s
08 Esteban Ocon (Force India) - 2.77s
09 Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) - 2.84s
10 Kevin Magnussen (Haas) - 2.87s

Mercedes lead DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award

Williams have reduced the gap on Mercedes in the DHL Fastest Pit Stop Award. The Silver Arrows now lead with 453 points while Williams have a deficit of 65 points. As 86 points in total will be awarded in the last two races, Mercedes could win the trophy during the penultimate meeting of the season in Brazil.


Formula 1 is heading to Brazil for the 19th race of the season. Renault won the DHL Pit Stop last year at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, turning Jolyon Palmer around in 2.36 seconds. However, Toro Rosso had the fastest crew in 2015 when Max Verstappen was equipped with fresh tires in 2.35 seconds.


Posting Guidelines

All communications on Logistics of Things should be appropriate for a professional community, respecting the diverse views of individuals from different backgrounds. We will review all comments and reserve the right to terminate or restrict access to user's account and to delete any content posted through it, without notice and at our discretion, if we deem it to be overly promotional, offensive, or off topic.

All posting become property of DHL.